At the starting line of the rest of my life…

…I’m as ready as I’ve been.

Tomorrow is my first official day as a classroom teacher.  I have nine little lives, little ones with many special needs, depending on me.  Two adult assistants who are waiting for me to tell them what to do.  I am, to put it mildly, nervous.

Also, my baby niece starts FIRST GRADE tomorrow.  (I can’t even type that without crying.  It would help if I would stop watching the Olympics and listening to daddy/daughter songs.)  There is a picture of her on my wall with chubby baby cheeks, she was about six months old.  Her daddy was in Iraq, and she had just learned how to take steps if someone was holding her hand.  It is amazing to me that someone so small can grow into someone so big.  She’s going to be an amazing first grader. 

I hope I am as good a teacher as she is a student.  Time will tell!  But wish me luck, and add some prayers, please!   

4 responses to “At the starting line of the rest of my life…

  1. Good Luck! You are going to be great!

  2. I hope your first couple of weeks in the classroom have gone well! You are a caring person, which will benefit your students tremendously.

  3. I hope you are enjoying teaching!

  4. I saw your post on Angie’s blog this morning. I have been there – I just got married last year one month before my 40th. Being single was the most difficult thing I’ve had to endure. My heart goes out to you.

    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

