Two Thomases

I know two little boys named Thomas who turn three today.  One I know in person – I was at the hospital when he was born.  While it was in precarious, somewhat scary circumstances, he was born safely and is a thriving little three year old today who loves Spiderman and just broke his leg trying to fly.

The other little Thomas has been an angel for three years.  And I don’t really know him, or really know his mom, but she is one of the most beautiful souls out there on the internet, and she’s been through so much pain and agony, yet she is still so loving and still chooses to love, each and every day.  And today is her Thomas’s birthday.  So go over and love on Kristin some today, if you get a chance.  Also, be sure and check out this post of hers, and be sure to pass along some kindness in honor of her babies.

Happy birthday, little men.  You are both very, very loved. 

3 responses to “Two Thomases

  1. Hello Kim,

    I didn’t realize you moved your blog and hadn’t read any posts for a while. I just found you again and read the post where you wrote, “I am sad that my life isn’t what I thought it would be 10 years ago.”

    I can relate to this feeling. Nine years ago, my father who was in excellent health died in a freak accident. My mother had died when I was a child, and I was very close to my dad. It was a devastating bereavement for me. Also, I inherited the family home when my father died, because my siblings all had homes of their own.

    My husband and I moved into our home, which is also the house I grew up in, about five and a half years ago. Sometimes I am reminded that ten years ago I never thought I would be living here, and I never thought my kids would have to grow up with no connection to my parents, and I never thought I would have to raise kids without being able to ask my dad for advice, and the list goes on.

    I think it is ok to acknowledge that you feel sad about some things in your life. Having strong faith doesn’t mean you have no right to ever feel disappointed about things.

    I am not sure that “everything always works out for the best.” However, someday I believe that you will be able to look back and realize that you gained a lot from the difficult period in your life that you are experiencing now. I know that I am a better parent for not having kids in my teens or early twenties, for instance.

    Last spring Elizabeth Edwards mentioned the tragic death of her first son (in a car crash), and she commented:

    “It’s odd to think of Wade’s death as having given us gifts, but it gave us quite a few. We just assume we’ll be able to do something next year or 10 years from now. How many of us have said, “I’m going to work in a soup kitchen next Christmas, I’m going to do that good thing”? And we all put it off. And one of the things that Wade’s death taught us is that we can control what we do during the day, during each day. Other than that, we really can’t control very much. Nothing we could do could change that one fact we wanted to change more than anything.”

    That blew me away. Even the worst thing that could possibly happen, losing her beloved son, gave her some gifts.

    I will keep you in my thoughts. I believe this difficult time in your life will give you gifts that may not be visible today.

  2. Thank you so, so much.

Leave a Reply

