Retreat, retreat!

That is what I feel like my soul is crying these days.

Being in the Word daily has helped, a lot, with the struggles I posted about a week or so ago.  But today is one of those days, regardless, where bitterness is creeping in.  I am trying to fight it with prayer and scripture at every turn, because I know that if I relent and let it in, even for a moment, that I will spend days battling back from the tear-stained pit.  So I am fighting.  But at the same time, all that I want to do is run away…to retreat from the trouble in my heart and the frustration that I am feeling. 

I know that we are promised that in this world we will have trouble, and it’s in how we handle the trouble that we are grown and also rewarded…with hope, with perseverance, and with character.  I know these things.  I guess that’s why I don’t give in, too much, to the need to retreat. 

One response to “Retreat, retreat!

  1. Dearest Kim, I just wish there was something I could do to help. Keep battling on, one moment and one day at a time, and He will help you through. I once read a little verse that always comes to mind when I’m struggling:

    Faint not! Fight on!
    Tomorrow comes the song.

    Much love to you, dear. And prayers… lots of them, sent heavenward for you.

Leave a Reply

