The Three P’s

Psalms, prayer, and pounds.  You were wondering, right?

I have been sorely neglecting this blog because, well, let’s face it – Christmas break is kind of boring.  There is nothing really happening in my life right now that counts as interesting to be blogged about.  I did go to Chicago to ring in the New Year – it was great fun, and I was in bed by 11:00 Central time.  (In my humble defense, it was 12:00 Eastern time, which is where I typically reside, so I stayed up until midnight for my correct address…)

 Psalms:

Our Bible study group has committed to reading through the Psalms together this year.  We even have a blog and everything.  It has been SO very neat to read through the Psalms specifically just to read through them – not to hurry up and get it done so that I can check something off, but to really meditate, journal, and analyze each Psalm.  It is COOL, y’all. Those first five Psalms are jam-packed with the goodness, greatness, and mercy of God.  I definitely recommend reading through them, and if you are so inclined, checking out the commentary on the blog we’ve got going. 

 Prayer:

Today is one year to the day since my very beloved Maw-Maw died.  It’s hard to wrap my mind around being one year away from her…she was such a loving, caring, nurturing woman, and I just miss her.  She died of Alzheimer’s Disease, and the cruelty of that disease took her away from us long before it actually took her body.  And now that the haze of the disease has cleared, I realize even more how much I miss her.  So I ask that you do please pray for my family (specifically my mom) as we try to be joyful on this day.

Also, please pray for this family.  The wife has cystic fibrosis, which is a genetic disorder that affect millions of Americans, and more specifically, a dear, dear friend of mine’s little boy (who is seven).  Tricia (the wife) is pregnant with the couple’s first child, and is very, very ill.  They are trying to hold off on delivering the baby until Tricia is at 26-weeks gestation, which is in about two weeks.  However, 26 weeks is still extremely premature, and a lot can happen.  A lot can also happen with Tricia, and so please pray for her lung health.  (Check out her husband’s blog, linked above, to get specific prayer requests.) 

 Pounds:

Ahh, Weight Watchers, how I love thee.  Sort of.  I actually joined meetings again right before the new year began.  So far I haven’t really lost anything, but I blame New Year’s weekend (which I don’t mind, because it was fun!).  That said, I do have a goal of losing 21 pounds by March 27 (the last meeting of the first quarter of the year).  I am eating well and working out to achieve this goal.  I just wanted to keep y’all posted.  I still have my “skinny” jeans hanging on the door of my closet to inspire me. 

 Blessings to you (two who read this!)!  I hope that all is well with you and I hope to get back into the swing of blogging soon. 

3 responses to “The Three P’s

  1. Hey! Good to see a post here from you. Thanks for your comment at my place– that little song you shared? I had forgotten about it, but when I read it in your comment I smiled as I remembered singing it as a child. Huge blessing– thanks!

    That Psalms-reading thing sounds wonderful. I love love LOVE the psalms, and have been in them almost constantly these past 2 years. I will definitely check out your group’s blog.

    And I will pray for your family as you think of your dear grandma. My grandfather died from Alzheimer’s just before Christmas 7 years ago. Like you said, it took him away from us long before his body passed away. Anyway, I’ll be praying for y’all. And for the other family you shared about.

    Love you and hope you’re doing well.

  2. Hi, Kim! Thanks for commenting over at Arwen’s. I missed you when your other blog vanished. 🙂

Leave a Reply

