That darn cat!

My cat’s current mission in life seems to be to wake me up in the middle of the night for her every need.  Now, she is no baby.  She’s a nine-year-old girl, who was up until now VERY independent.  In her defense, I did forget to get her food before I went to bed last night (I knew she was getting low, I just forgot to refill her bowl before I went to sleep).  So by 6:30 this morning, she was trying to eat my nose off gently waking me with her nose to get me to feed her.  But it’s been other things, too.  Her current method of hydration is nearly exclusively drinking from the fancy fountain (aka, the water faucet in my bathroom).  I have come to the conclusion that she must think all I do in the shower is drink water, because she seems rather indignant that I don’t let her drink when I get out of the shower and she runs in to the fancy fountain.  And last week, after the school year (FINALLY*) ended, and I could sleep late until the exact same time I normally do because hey, I still had work to do, she decided that the most important thing in her entire life was getting into my laundry closet.  So she scratched, and she scratched, and I am pretty sure if she had lips she would have blown the door down.  I finally gave in and she was content.  I am learning that all that behavior training I have learned for my students doesn’t work on cats.  Cats are too sophisticated to let humans “train” them.  They will take over the world, they do believe.  

*Speaking of the end of the school year/students/teaching, my first year of teaching is finally over, and I survived it with no gray hairs.  Huzzah!  (I do, however, have a deep fine line in my forehead, but considering I am pretty much genetically predetermined to get both, I guess the fine line is okay.)  I will dare say that I even enjoyed my first year.  It was not easy (I may say that I might have actually thought teaching was easy before I got into it.  HAH!).  There were days that I cried.  But in the end, I do love (most) of my kiddos.  They are a lot of fun.  And as for the “finally,” with the windstorm (possibly mentioned earlier here…oh yes.  Just vaguely in my Thanksgiving post.) and the ice storm, we missed 10 days of school this year.  So we started school on August 12 and did not get out until June 3.  Teachers worked until June 5.  That is nearly a 10 month school year.  We go back August 11 (kids come back August 13).  And we have PD (professional development, also known as CEUs) all summer, plus I am in class.  I like to tell people that I really do think it is cute when people think teachers get summers off.  Because we do not.  Oh well.  Luckily, I usually like my job.

I will try to be better at updating during the summer (no promises during the school year).  Next up?  My new place.

Leave a Reply

