Another blog post in which I whine about schoolwork…

Just wanted to get that right out there in the title. 

I hate writing papers!  It seems every two weeks or so I have a paper due, and it is something I just don’t do well.  I would much, much rather have a test.  Any day.  But alas, here I sit, making it difficult on myself and wasting time (not on you though, you are never a waste of time!).  SO…I write with a request…got any paper writing tips?  Fun memes to pass the time?  Funny stories?  Baby poo stories will do (I changed five dirty diapers, out of six one to two year olds, in the nursery Sunday morning at church…).  Stories about how your iPhone (sob!) beats my Blackberry (Pearl…). 

Help, please!

P.S.  “Bennie and the Jets” is stuck in my head.  “She’s got electric boots, a mohair suit, you know I read it in a magazine, oh oh….b-b-b-Bennie and the Jets. Doo do! Doo do!  “Bennie! (Bennie!) Bennie!…”  You get the drift.

One response to “Another blog post in which I whine about schoolwork…

  1. First of all: You crazy, crazy girl! Who, in their right mind, wishes for a test over a paper???!?!??!! I would have given my left arm and my first born if I could have made a bargain to write a paper instead of taking a test in every class I’ve ever taken or ever will take again. I HATE tests. Abhor them. Loathe them with the passion of a thousand burning suns.

    OK – I’m over it.

    Paper writing: the hardest part is the first page or so. Getting your rhythm set is key, but unfortunately, something you have to do on your own – I have no words of advice there. After that, I’ve found it’s best to over-explain yourself. I always felt like I was saying the same thing, over and over, in different ways, but that’s the way to do it. Get into more detail than you think you should – especially if you’re trying to fill a given number of pages!

    Also? dictionary.com is your best friend. Use the thesaurus – it will help you say the same thing without being too repetitive.

    Lastly, and most importantly: Don’t underestimate the “fake it” technique. I found, on MANY occasions, if I acted like I knew what I was talking about, I could BS my way out of (or into, for that matter) anything 🙂

Leave a comment